Annual Banquet, "Gaeta Night"

The Saints Cosmas and Damian Society hosts its annual banquet each fall. Over the years, the banquet has grown in size as it has become a more popular event among the local Italian/American community, dignitaries, businesses, and supporters of our organization.

The event is organized by the DiDomenico family, a prominent family of our society. All proceeds benefit the Organization and the charities we support. Entertainers such as Anna Marie Alberghetti, Lou Carry, Mario Tacca, Mary Mancini, Christina Fontanelli, The Capris, Joey Dee and the Starliters, The Cosmos, and Enzo Amara have entertained the banquet crowd over the years. The evening is filled with glamour and surprise as a full course Italian meal is served to all guests and Italian/American dance music fills the air with nostalgia and charm. The Society members donate several gift baskets for a spectacular gift/raffle table.

The hallmark of the evening is the presentation of the Society's Man and Woman of the Year Awards. These annual awards of honor are given to individuals who have made significant contributions to the Society, or to the Italian/American community. These awards have been presented to such individuals since 1987. On occasion, the Society has also presented the President's Award and the Family of the Year Award to notable individuals and families in recognition of their efforts toward the organization.

2016 Banquet

Recipients of the Man and Woman of the Year Award

Year Woman of the Year Award
Man of the Year Award

2016 Maria Gioconda Motta
(C.A.S.IT. President)
Nicola DiSantis
(Italian Counsul General)

2013 Carmelita Bello
(Sons of Italy State President)
Joseph Russo
(Sons of Italy
National 1st Vice President)

2012 Maria Albano Lisi
(Society friend)
Damiano Granata
(Society member)

2011 Anna Maria Mclain
(Society member)
Antonio Raimondi
(Mayor of Gaeta)

2010 Elaine Leccese
(Society member)
James DiStefano
(Society friend)

2009 Elisabetta Mitrano
(Society friend)
James Leccese
(Society member)

2008 Anna Granata
(Society member)
Sal DiDomenico Sr.
(Society chairman)

2007 Dorothy Maio
(Society friend)
Stephen Maio
(Society friend)

2006 Jenny Carvello
(Society member)
Mayor Joe Curtatone
(Mayor of Somerville)

2005 Sandra Albano and
Maryellen Carvello
(Society friends)
Richard Rossi
(Assistant city manager)

2004 Madelena Leccese
(Society member)
Louie Rietano
(Society member)

2003 Mary (Dee Dee) Albano
(Society friend)
Roland Farinato
(Society member)

2002 Tricia DiDomenico
(Society member)
Sal DiDomenico Jr.
(Society vice president)

2001 Jean Privitera
(Society benefactor)
Frank Privitera
(Society benefactor)

2000 Gianinna Granata
(Society trustee)
Anthony Leccese
(Society recording secretary)

1999 Margie Cahn Saluti
(Society friend)
Piero DeMasi
(Italian Counsul General, Boston)

1998 Christina Nardella
(Society member)
Peter Ingeneri
(President of Pyrindello Lyceum)

1997 Mary Ann Esposito
(Italian Chef, WGBH TV)
Major General Dr. Dean Saluti
(Society friend)

1996 Pamela Donnaruma
(Editor of Boston's Post Gazette)
Fred Salvucci
(Society friend)

1995 Antonietta Borriello
(Society vice president)
Fr. Anthony Spinosa
(Society friend)

1994 Anna Foti
(Society friend)
Richard Leccese
(Society adviser)

1993 Norma Buonomo
(Society member)
Mike Nicoloro
(Society friend)

1992 Maria Valente
(Society president)
Salvatore "Sonny" Reale
(Society member)

1991 Yolanda Cellucci
("First Lady of Fashion")
Roberto Falaschi
(Italian Counsul General, Boston)

1990 Ozvalda "Ozzie" Capotosto
(Society financial secretary)
Alexander Buonaugurio
(Society member)

1989 Anna Macera
(Society founder)
Charles "Sonny" DeFrancesco
(Society friend)

1988 Marie DiDomenico
(Society chairwoman)
Mayor Alfred Vellucci
(Former mayor of Cambridge)

1987 Maria Colaruotolo
and Anna Amendola
(Sociey founders)
Cardinal Bernard Law
(Bishop, Archdiocese of Boston)

Recipients of the President's Award

Year Recipient(s)

2016 Michael McLaughlin
(Society member)

2007 Anna Maria Mclain
(Society member)

2006 Lino Rullo
(Society friend)

2004 Rosa Uttaro
(Society member)

2002 David Clem of Lyme Properties
(Society benefactor)

2002 State Representative Tim Toomey
(Society friend)

2000 Mary Aufiero
(Society friend)

1991 Frank and Jean Privitera
(Society benefactors)

Recipients of the Family of the Year Award

Year Recipient(s)

2013 The Nardella Family

2012 The Trifone Family

2011 The DiDomenico Family

2009 The DiBiase Family

2008 The Reitano Family

2007 The Leccese Family